Buy My eBook

Monday, 9 November 2015

2016/2017 Australia Awards Scholarship for African Students

2016/2017 Australian Awards Scholarship for African Students


The call for application is open for the 2016/2017 Australia Awards Scholarship for African Students. There are two categories of the awards: one is the Australia Awards Scholarships (AASs), which enable students to undertake higher degree studies in Australia at Masters Level, and the other is the Short Course Awards (SCAs), which enable student to undertake short-term, targeted professional courses, in Australia and/or Africa, in a range of development-focused sectors.

Australia Awards (AAs) are cornerstones of the Australian Government’s development assistance programme for Africa. They provide access to postgraduate education, training and professional development opportunities for suitably qualified Africans from eligible countries. Successful applicants are required to return to their home countries upon completion of their academic programmes and are expected to contribute actively to the development in their home countries.


AASs vary by country. Eligible African countries include Algeria, Angola, Benin Republic, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroun, Cape Verde, Comoros, Congo Republic, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, and Zambia.

For the SCAs, eligible African countries include Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Mauritania, Niger, North Sudan, Republic of Guinea, and South Sudan.

Eligibility criteria are country specific and include, but not limited to, the following:
  • Applicants must be at least 25 years and not more than 50 years of age at the date of application.
  • Applicants must have at least 3 years relevant post graduate work experience, which must be in a role relevant to their proposed field of study and employment organization type (e.g. public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector experience). Preference will be given to applicants with greater years of experience. 
  • Applicants must possess, as a minimum, Bachelor’s degree (or equivalent) from a recognized institution of at least 4 years in length with at least a 3rd Class Pass. 
  •  Applicants must not already hold, or be studying for, a Master’s degree. 
  •  Applicants must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to their current employer following completion of the award.

 Priority Fields

Priority fields vary by country. They include Agriculture/Food security, Education, Health, Public Policy (including public sector management, public sector reform, trade, international diplomacy), Environmental management, Natural resources management (including mining related subjects), Technical and vocational education & training (available for SCAs only), Energy (including natural gas and oil technology), Infrastructure, Transport (including ports, roads and airports management).

 Application deadline

Applications for AASs run from September 1, 2015 to November 30, 2015

Applications for SCAs run from September 1, 2015 to December 18, 2015

How to apply

For more information and to apply click here

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...